orkidéängsöw.jpgOrchids, Ängsö National ParkGrafiskt element

National Parks

National parks are protected by the Environmental Code (chap. 7:2–3). They are large untouched areas which represent Swedish landscape types that have been preserved in the ‘natural state’. They must also be naturally beautiful or unique and give strong natural experiences. One could call them the country’s natural heritage of importance to ourselves and coming generations.

National parks must lie in state-owned land, and it is the Government that makes decisions about them with the consent of the Swedish Riksdag. They are managed by the County Administrative Boards or the National Environmental Protection Board. The latter regulate the administration and care of national parks and what is allowed and forbidden in the area. Today there are 28 national parks in Sweden, from Abisko in the north to Stenshuvud in the south. In Stockholm County there are two national parks: Tyresta and Ängsö.

Skriv ut